Oils, Oils of Ancient Scripture, Oily Solutions, Young Living

Pure Nard – Spikenard

spikenard - pure nard for mary

Wow! The first thing I try to do when I wake up in the mornings is read the Daily Verse on my Bible App in order to start my mind thinking right. This morning as I was switching views to the verse, I was caught off guard by the passage that was on my screen from the last time I was using the app. It was John 12 – specifically the verse where Mary took a bottle of “pure nard”  and poured it on Jesus’ feet to worship and anoint Him. I know that essential oils are mentioned in Scripture over and over again and I’ve been praying about which oils and verses the Lord wants me to share at church this coming Sunday for what we call “Psalm Night” so I was curious about this verse and decided to look up what “nard” is. The first reference that came up was “nard = Himalayan Spikenard”. Well, I know what Spikenard is, I even have a bottle of it!

So the story in Scripture goes, that Jesus was in the house of Lazarus (whom Jesus had raised from the dead) and his two sisters: Mary and Martha. They were enjoying a feast prepared for Jesus (and apparently the disciples.) Mary decided to worship Jesus by pouring an expensive perfume, pure nard, over Jesus’ feet and wiping them with her hair. And (one of my favorite parts) the perfume filled the entire house with the exquisite fragrance.

Judas Iscariot (who later would betray Jesus) complained that the perfume shouldn’t be used in this manner, but instead should be sold and the money given to the poor. He even mentioned that it is worth a year’s income. (Scripture also tells us that he really was only interested in skimming some off the top for himself.) Jesus got on to Judas and said that the poor will always exist, but He was is only with them for a little while longer.

It’s a beautiful story of many different things. Jesus enjoying a meal with friends, Mary spending an entire bottle of costly perfume on Jesus and Jesus receiving the worship.

And honestly, I’m so humbled that I have a bottle of that very perfume that Mary used to anoint the feet of Jesus! Scripture comes alive to me through certain essential oils and I’m so INCREDIBLY THANKFUL for that! Amazing!

(Spikenard Stats: Steam-distilled from roots, plant origin: India, great for the skin, strong relaxing and soothing fragrance, loved by many women for “that time of the month”)

The Oil Change Blog

Are you ready for your oil change? Sign Up Here!
Or find out more information here!

Leave a Reply

